Can you delete the Facebook application while keeping Messenger?


It is not possible to completely delete your Facebook account while keeping Messenger, however, you can continue to use the Messenger application after deactivating your Facebook account, this means that your account will not be reactivated but you will still be in touch with your friends using Messenger.


How to delete Facebook while keeping Messenger?


Follow the steps mentioned below:

  • Log in to your Facebook account.

  • Now, go to “Settings & Privacy” and click on “Settings”.

  • Select “Your Facebook Information” and then click on the “Deactivate and Delete” option.

  • Select "Deactivate Account" and then click "Continue to Deactivate Account".

  • Further, from among several options, choose a reason for leaving Facebook and then click Continue.

  • Finally, close the popup and uncheck the option “Unsubscribe from receiving messages on Messenger” and then click on “Deactivate”.

How to use Messenger after deactivating your account on Facebook?

  • Download the Messenger app on your smartphone.

  • Log in to the app with the same email ID and password that you used for your Facebook account.

  • Now your friends will be able to contact you through the Messenger app or the Facebook chat window.

Does deleting Facebook permanently delete the Messenger program?


When you permanently delete Facebook, your profile, posts, videos, messages, photos, and everything will also be permanently deleted. You will not be able to restore anything you added or use Facebook Messenger.


What do my friends see when I deactivate Facebook?


Your Facebook friends will not be able to see your profile or search for you if you deactivate your Facebook account, however, the messages you sent to your friends may still be visible to others, also, the comments you made will remain on someone else's profile as well.


How long can I leave my Facebook account disabled before deleting it?


You can deactivate your Facebook account for more than 15 days, and your account will be deleted if you choose to delete it permanently.


What happens when you disable the messenger?


When you deactivate Facebook Messenger, your account or profile will not be visible in the Messenger app, also, your contacts will not be able to send you messages.


How often can you disable the messenger?


You can deactivate Messenger as many times as you want, however, after disabling it, you may have to wait 24 hours for it to activate.


Does the green dot on Messenger mean they are chatting?


A green dot on Messenger, next to the video icon, means the person is available to video chat, and if you give Facebook permission to access the camera, the green dot next to the video icon will always be on while you're active on Messenger.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All