Does anonymous browsing protect your data?


Many people resort to (incognito mode) while browsing the Internet for many reasons, including an unwillingness to save browsing history, cookies, website data, as well as information that They are used to fill out forms like passwords.


Google is facing a proposed class-action lawsuit in the United States worth $ 5 billion for deliberately deceiving users and collecting confidential information about what they browse online while using the incognito mode.


Some reports during the past period indicated that Xiaomi collects browsing data for users of its phones even in incognito mode, but added in the new MIUI 12 interface for its phones a new feature within the browser to allow users to disable data collection.


Regardless of what happens with the lawsuit against Google, or when the new feature from Xiaomi will arrive on its phones, it is important to know what is the incognito mode in Google Chrome, the similar options in other browsers, and what does it do with your data while browsing?


What is the hidden description mode?


Incognito mode prevents browsing history from being saved on your device and in your Google account, and this includes: the searches you make, the sites you visited, and cookies -although the downloads and bookmarks you put on the sites are saved - so if others have access To your device or account, they will not be able to see what you did during the incognito mode.


These same restrictions apply to private browsing modes in other browsers, such as (Firefox), and (Edge) Edge, so it is better to treat incognito mode or private browsing as nothing more than a pause button for browsing history.


As these situations do not make your web activity completely anonymous or hide your personal information when you log into websites, nor do they prevent Google, or the Internet service provider, or employers or advertisers from seeing your data while browsing, or collecting this data, and it appears. You get all this information clearly when you open a new incognito tab, as shown in the following picture:


Since private browsing modes often disable extensions installed in the browser by default, including extensions that hide your web activity, your IP address, or that protect privacy and prevent tracking, it may be easy for websites and companies to track Certain data while using incognito mode.


Likewise; If you have already logged into a website such as Instagram while using the incognito mode, the site will be able to see what you are doing, and all your usual account activities will be visible to other users, even after closing the incognito tab.


When can you use this mode?


If you are trying to hide your browsing history from people using the same devices you use, or the same Google account you are using, use Incognito Mode.


But if you are trying to hide your web activity, your IP address, and keep your data away from companies and advertisers, then you need to do more steps like:


Use a VPN service, and it should be noted that if you install a VPN service, it must be reliable, and it is preferable to use paid services. Here you can see 5 VPN services to protect your data and enhance your privacy with attractive offers.


DNS over HTTPS also encrypts your web activity, making it difficult for strangers to see the sites you visit.


Use Tor Browser as the way it works is similar to VPN services, it circulates your browsing around different servers all over the world, making it very difficult for anyone to track your activity.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All