Snapchat is one of the most popular social media apps around the world, but many users are looking to spend some time away from Snapchat or some want to get rid of it, due to different reasons. If you fall into that category and you are looking to permanently delete your Snapchat account, then here comes a step-by-step guide on how to do exactly that.
The steps to deleting a Snapchat profile
The easiest way to achieve this is by logging into your Snapchat account on desktop, as a 'Delete My Account' option appears as soon as you log in. There, you simply fill out your details and confirm that you wish to permanently deactivate your profile.
On a mobile phone, whether it's an Apple device or Android, you can also delete your profile by clicking on your avatar and then selecting the 'Settings' option. Then click 'Support', then 'I Need Help', and then type 'Delete My Account' into the search bar that appears. From the option that'll be provided, you can also deactivate your profile.
Ensuring your Snapchat profile is permanently deleted
Once you ask to delete your account, Snapchat keeps your data and information for 30 days. In that time, the account is considered to be "deactivated" and it'll appear to friends and contacts as if you no longer have a presence on Snapchat. But, if you do decide to reactive your account during that month, you can.
After 30 days, Snapchat then permanently deletes your account settings, friends, Snaps, Chats, Story, device data, and location data from their database.
Some information will never be deleted from Snapchat's servers, though. That's just the way it is. They can retain the personal information you shared when first setting up your profile, some information on purchases made through Snapchat, and some third-party information.