top of page

Recent Nobel Laureates in Medicine

Here is a list of the winners of the Nobel Medicine Prize in the past 10 years:

  • 2022: Swedish paleogeneticist Svante Paabo for his discoveries on the genomes of extinct hominins and human evolution.

  • 2021: US duo David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian for discoveries on human receptors responsible for our ability to sense temperature and touch.

  • 2020: Americans Harvey Alter and Charles Rice, together with Briton Michael Houghton, for the discovery of the Hepatitis C virus, leading to the development of sensitive blood tests and antiviral drugs.

  • 2019: William Kaelin and Gregg Semenza of the US and Britain's Peter Ratcliffe for establishing the basis of our understanding of how cells react and adapt to different oxygen levels.

  • 2018: Immunologists James Allison of the US and Tasuku Honjo of Japan, for figuring out how to release the immune system's brakes to allow it to attack cancer cells more efficiently.

  • 2017: US geneticists Jeffrey Hall, Michael Rosbash, and Michael Young for their discoveries on the internal biological clock that governs the wake-sleep cycles of most living things.

  • 2016: Yoshinori Ohsumi of Japan for his work on autophagy a process whereby cells "eat themselves" which when disrupted can cause Parkinson's and diabetes.

  • 2015: William Campbell, a US citizen born in Ireland, Satoshi Omura of Japan, and Tu Youyou of China for unlocking treatments for malaria and roundworm.

  • 2014: American-born Briton John O'Keefe, Edvard I. Moser, and May-Britt Moser of Norway for discovering how the brain navigates with an "inner GPS".

  • 2013: Thomas C. Sudhof, a US citizen born in Germany, and James E. Rothman and Randy W. Schekman of the US for work on how the cell organizes its transport system.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page