What is the disappearance mode of WhatsApp?


Will Cathcart, head of WhatsApp, and Mark Zuckerberg, CEO of Facebook revealed to the WABetaInfo portal that they are working on the disappearance mode, as well as the addition of other functionalities such as View Once and the ability to have your account on multiple devices at the same time.


It was only in January of this year that WhatsApp announced a change in its privacy policies, in which it was specified that the application from now on would collect information such as the user's cell phone contacts, commercial data on when Facebook is used, and even the IP address.


The announcement was harshly criticized by the users of the application and even by executives of other instant messaging applications, such as Telegram. The news even led to questioning the absence of measures by WhatsApp to protect the privacy of its users.


The recently announced new features are the answer to a request for more privacy on the platform. In Zuckerberg's words: This will make WhatsApp messages even more private and secure.


How does disappear mode work?


According to the Facebook CEO's conversation with WABetaInfo, the disappearing feature of WhatsApp will allow the user to automatically delete messages from any chat or group after a specified time. Although he did not specify if this time would be determined by the user, a screenshot of the WABetaInfo site seems to indicate that this period will be 7 days. This new function would not only have the objective of taking care of the privacy of the users, but also of saving storage space on the device.


How many times has it not happened to you that your memory fills up due to the files received in workgroups or from the family? Many times in these cases, the chat is filled with multimedia files that are usually useless after a while, and one has to resort to manually delete them.


Another announced function was the View Once, which is already available in other applications such as Instagram or Telegram. It basically makes submitted content disappear immediately after being opened. That is, it can only be viewed once. Although in contrast to other apps, you can still take a screenshot before it disappears.


Unlike deleting a message manually, this new function will not leave a trace of what was deleted, which is currently the case with a legend that says this message has been deleted. There is still no date announced for the arrival of the disappearance mode of WhatsApp and the View Once, but it is expected to be very soon.


Another of the biggest news was the announcement of the possibility of having your WhatsApp account active on different devices. It has been a great technical challenge to sync all messages and content between devices, even when the battery is draining, but we have solved it and we want to launch it soon, said Zuckerberg.


For its part, Cathcart explained that it is working on maintaining the WhatsApp account on up to four different devices. The best thing is that you would not have to depend on the main device with the internet, as is the case with WhatsApp Web on computers. The plan is to launch a beta version of this feature in a month or two, according to the Facebook CEO. In this way, it is expected to have feedback with users and see what they think, so the details of this function could change in the future.


On the other hand, this new functionality brought with it the question of whether it would now be possible to have support for WhatsApp on iPad. In this regard, Cathcart confirmed that he is working on it, although he did not speak of the launch of a particular application for this device. However, WABetaInfo has previously stated that development is ongoing. It remains to be seen what other surprises will come from WhatsApp in the future.

1 view0 comments